Our History


The Las Vegas Master Singers is a community choir that was founded in 1993 by Susan L. Johnson and a small group of dedicated vocalists who came together to sing "for the joy of it." The Master Singers quickly became recognized as one of the premiere choral organizations in the Las Vegas Valley. Continuously performing ever since, this select group boasts nearly one hundred singers who represent a wide segment of Southern Nevada's community. Most have performed as soloists and choristers in a variety of settings around the United States. Many of them hold music degrees and have worked professionally as teachers, choral directors, organists, pianists, or performers. Membership in The Las Vegas Master Singers is achieved through audition. Mrs. Johnson was honored with a proclamation from former Nevada Governor Kenny Guinn recognizing her contributions to the arts community in Las Vegas and Nevada.


The Master Singers have performed a wide range of both sacred and secular choral music, from classical masterworks to jazz, patriotic, spirituals, and twentieth-century. Often innovative, their concerts have included traditional works of Handel, Haydn, Bach, Beethoven, and Brahms, and the more contemporary compositions of Bernstein, Gershwin, Berlin, Orff, and Rutter.


In an effort to forge positive relationships with other performing groups in the Las Vegas Valley, the Master Singers have sung with the Las Vegas Philharmonic, the Henderson Civic Symphony, the Desert Chorale, the Nevada Chamber Symphony, the Southern Nevada Opera Association, and the Cultural Arts Society.


Students from the Las Vegas Academy; Nevada School of the Arts; Las Vegas Dance Theater Studios; Boys Chorus of Southern Nevada have been given performance opportunities in a number of the Master Singers' concerts.


The Las Vegas Master Singers, Ltd. is a registered nonprofit, patron-sponsored corporation, with 501(c)(3) status, and no affiliation to any religious institution. Six members of the Master Singers serve as its Board of Directors.